Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Dry Hopping: When/How to transfer & bottle?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2006, 03:43 PM   #1
Evan!
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 61 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Dry Hopping: When/How to transfer & bottle?

So I made an IPA, my first attempt at a true IPA; it came from Papazian's "Palilalia" recipe, but slightly modified. Part of that modification was a dry-hop, which I've never done before.

So, my beer is sitting in secondary, dry hopping, in a 5-gal carboy. It's been in there with about an oz or so of wholeleaf Cascade, and some lime basil leaves. I don't want to over-dryhop it...so I'm thinking about bottling soon. It's been dryhopping for a week now...how long should I wait?

Also, when I do end up racking into the bottling bucket, is there anything special that I need to do? I'm afraid that the hops will clog the racking tube.

Thanks!

.planned:
•Scottish 80/- •Sweet Stout •Roggenbier
.primary | bright:
98: Moss Hollow Soured '09 72: Oude Kriek 99: B-Weisse 102: Brett'd BDSA 104: Feat of Strength Helles Bock 105: Merkin Brown
.on tap | kegged:
XX: Moss Hollow Springs Sparkling Water 95: Gott Mit Uns German Pils 91b: Brown Willie's Oaked Abbey Ale 103: Merkin Stout
98: Yorkshire Special 100: Maple Porter 89: Cidre Saison 101: Steffiweizen '09 (#3)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2006, 06:40 PM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 133 Times on 126 Posts

A week is good. Some kind of cloth wrapped around the inlet is your best bet. A grain bag would work.

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

Old 08-21-2006, 06:48 PM   #3
ian

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts