The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Dry hopped pellets won't sink

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2010, 11:27 PM   #1
griffondg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Dry hopped pellets won't sink

So I dy hopped my Janet's Brown Ale 2 weeks ago and there are STILL pellets floating on top. I'd say about 75% have sunk to the bottom but the others junk don't want to sink. I'd love to bottle this weekend so as to free up my primary for the AHS Pliny clone I want to brew. I have a secondary fermentor available, but since I started brewing in earnest last year I've only used a primary. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Eric

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2010, 11:28 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4196 Times on 3055 Posts
Likes Given: 778

Quote:
Originally Posted by griffondg View Post
So I dy hopped my Janet's Brown Ale 2 weeks ago and there are STILL pellets floating on top. I'd say about 75% have sunk to the bottom but the others junk don't want to sink. I'd love to bottle this weekend so as to free up my primary for the AHS Pliny clone I want to brew. I have a secondary fermentor available, but since I started brewing in earnest last year I've only used a primary. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Eric
I would bottle it. I don't like to dry hop for more than 7-10 days.

Old 03-19-2010, 12:13 AM   #3
Shooter
Almaigan Brewing Co.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 230 Times on 178 Posts
Likes Given: 38

I agree with that "guy" Yooper. I'd just bottle it. I don't think there will be any problem.