Double the yeast to increase fermentation? Secondary required?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

welker85

Reaction score
Hey all,

Please bear with me as I'm a "brewbie" and this is my first time posting here.

I visited my local brewer on Saturday with the intent of brewing a beer in time for a family Christmas Eve party. I was told that most beers wouldn't be ready by then, but that I could double the amount of yeast in my primary to increase fermentation speed (without affecting flavor, he said) and have it ready in time for Xmas. My primary is now happily bubbling away right next to me while I anxiously wait for it to finish, but I do have quite a few questions:

1) What would have happened if I didn't pitch that second vial of liquid yeast? What can I expect from this batch to be different, since it has two vials?

2) When do I take my next gravity reading? I've read that it's usually sometime after bubbling stops in your air lock.. when that happens, do I just open the cover of the primary, stick in my thief and take my gravity reading, and then repeat the process the next day to see if it's changed?

3) The recipe kit I used doesn't call for a secondary fermentation stage, but the recipe also didn't take into account that I used two vials of yeast. Would secondary fermentation be helpful for this, and would it just slow the process down even more?

4) When I eventually rack the beer from my primary into my bottling bucket, I just take the lid off of both and then use my autosiphon to transfer the beer to the bottom of the bottling bucket, correct? I recall reading something about minimizing the amount of air you get into the beer, how do you do that precisely?