Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Double Batch
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2007, 02:34 PM   #1
big supper
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 428
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Double Batch

I am assuming that if I want to do a double batch, I can just double the recipe, and then split it as evenly as possible into 2 fermentors? Anything to watch out for?

__________________
big supper is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2007, 02:40 PM   #2
beerdad
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 143
Default

You might have to split the boil if your stove isn't powerfull enough. I can barely get 1 batch to a good boil. It's good and bad. It does get to a good boil, but it takes a while. The good thing is it is impossible for me to boil over.

__________________

Primary #1 Panty Dropper Cider
Primary #2 Honey Brown Ale
Primary #3 Scottish Ale
Secondary #1 Empty
Secondary #2 Panty Dropper Cider
Secondary #3 Empty
Secondary #4 Empty
Bottled European Ale, Corona Clone, Raspberry White Zinfandel, Old English 800 Clone
Drinking Double IPA
More Double IPA it was great!

beerdad is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2007, 02:48 PM   #3
ohiobrewtus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ohiobrewtus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,814
Liked 37 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big supper
I am assuming that if I want to do a double batch, I can just double the recipe, and then split it as evenly as possible into 2 fermentors? Anything to watch out for?
I haven't done a 10g batch yet (but I will be soon), but yes, double everything and split it up into two fermenters.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_bird
Well, if you *love* it.... again, note that my A.S.S. has five pounds.
ohiobrewtus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2007, 03:27 PM   #4
ColoradoXJ13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ColoradoXJ13's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 1,273
Liked 14 Times on 7 Posts

Default

not necessarily, hop utilization goes up with the larger volume...

__________________
ColoradoXJ13 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2007, 04:44 PM   #5
WOP31
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
WOP31's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,332
Liked 8 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Really it depends on what type (AG or Extract) and size boil if extract. I would sugest punching the numbers it to one of the homebrew programs out there and then locking the ingredients to the batch size and then double the batch size, with promash, every time that i have done that it just doubles everything. but you can also adust by a gallon or two if you need to add a little bit of volume for losses.

Cheers

__________________
"Yes, I am a pirate two hundred years too late. The cannons don't thunder there's nothin' to plunder,
I'm an [under] forty victim of fate, Arriving too late, arriving too late."
-Jimmy Buffet
WOP31 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Batch Day Reno_eNVy General Beer Discussion 1 06-10-2009 02:21 PM
Double Batch Size = Double Ingredients? schneemann Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 8 10-27-2008 02:30 PM
Another double batch day NitrouStang96 General Beer Discussion 1 04-28-2008 05:39 PM
Blending a Double Batch Chip General Beer Discussion 2 02-14-2008 03:51 AM
Can I double a batch??? Hermish All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 8 09-08-2006 04:06 PM