Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Define "BOIL"

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2006, 10:13 PM   #21
pbowler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

True, but it isn't just water. Water with salt in it boils faster [EDIT: slower actually, Salt raises the boiling point of water] than water without salt.

Salt and Sugar both dissolve in water, therefore it cannot be treated as water for the purpose of figuring a Boiling point.

my head hurts...

Drinking: Heiniken
Thinking about: A really Hoppy Red
In the Driveway: 1990 BMW 750il

SLEEPY DAD BREWERY

Last edited by pbowler; 09-19-2006 at 10:19 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2006, 10:21 PM   #22
pbowler
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Hmm, looks like Sugar actually Boils Later than water...

oh well, that's whi I have a degree in Economics...

SLEEPY DAD BREWERY

Old 09-19-2006, 11:08 PM   #23
Pirate Ale

Recipes 

So all that really doens't answer the question. Is a slow boil on an electric range going to give the hot break needed, as compared to a high rolling boil?

Old 09-19-2006, 11:10 PM   #24
Chairman Cheyco
***DRAMATIZATION***
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Oh, uh yes... Unless it doesn't.

It should, but the only way to sure is to try it.

Once the wind has been broken, it cannot be fixed.

Old 09-20-2006, 07:03 PM   #25
MattD
Recipes