Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Cold Crashing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2013, 11:43 AM   #1
smccarter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 156 Times on 109 Posts
Likes Given: 80

Default Cold Crashing

Just a quick technique question before I cold crash 2 beers... I've never done this before, and want to be successful on my first attempt.

I've read a few posts on the subject and just want to validate the technique I'm going to use.

I'll remove the airlocks and replace with aluminum foil secured with rubber bands. I'll place the carboys in the freezer and set the temp controller to 40 degrees. I'll leave at that temperature for 18-24 hours.

Does that sound about right?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2013, 12:20 PM   #2
AnOldUR
fer-men-TAY-shuhn
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 610 Times on 441 Posts
Likes Given: 456

Opinions vary, but I would leave it for 1-3 (or more) days. There's a lot of thermal mass. It'll take a while just to get the temperature down. For me, 40 is a little high. I go as close to freezing (without freezing) as I can get.

edit: Are you crashing a primary or secondary vessel?

I use to leave an S type airlock on during cold crashing, but now prefer minimizing the chance of exchange of ambient air by using foil and a rubber band.

Secondary Cold Crash . . .

coldcrash2.jpg  

Old 11-13-2013, 12:23 PM   #3
BigFloyd
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 626 Times on 548 Posts
Likes Given: 575

I use S airlocks with StarSan inside, so I just leave them be. Never had a problem.

Old 11-13-2013, 12:24 PM   #4
kevinb
Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 79

I have had success with cold crashing for only about 24 hours.

Curious, why remove the airlock? I have never done that.

Kevin - One Arm Brewery

"People who drink light ‘beer’ don’t like the taste of beer; they just like to pee a lot."

Old 11-13-2013, 12:30 PM   #5