Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Cold Conditioning

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2013, 10:46 PM   #1
jeetaman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Cold Conditioning

Hey everyone. I'm new to home brewing and this is my first time posting on this site. Can anyone help me out with how to cold condition a Belgian Dubbel?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2013, 11:00 PM   #2
saazall
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

There are many ways to do this, but for my .02 I cold condition in secondary ferment for 60+ days at cellar (55F) or cooler. I then bottle with yeast, do a 2 week conditioning at 75F to carbonate then lay the bottles down (figuratively) for a few weeks to months at cellar temp. Gets better with time.

SaazAll

Old 02-08-2013, 11:09 PM   #3
Black
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 65

I put my secondary carboy in the fridge at around 37F for 2 weeks, then keg and/or bottle. It helps clear the beer and I find it improves the taste too. After that, the beer is all clear.

Cheers !

-edited for spelling

Old 02-08-2013, 11:11 PM   #4
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2733 Times on 1640 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

With ales there really is not such thing as "cold conditioning." Conditioning relies on yeast activity to a great extent. Ale yeast operates in a pretty warm temp range from the low 50's to the 90's (for some yeasts like Saison.) When you get cooler than a yeasts lowest temps, the yeast, quite frankly, goes to sleep.....if you're asleep do you accomplish anything? Neither do the yeasts. They go dormant, and the beer doesn't "condition." In fact it just sits there, and ages with little or no change.

All cooling off ale yeast does is let it fall out of suspension...we cold crash to CLEAR our beers. But the flavors don't get altered...just that the beer gets less yeasty tasting...