Chocolate hazelnut porter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bates_Foreman

Reaction score
I've heard different stories about using cocoa powder. I used a full 8 oz batch of hershey's unsweetened cocoa powder right at the end of my boiling. I've heard some people say that if you let the cocoa powder sit too long, it can cause a bitter chocolate taste in the beer. I'm going for a strong chocolate taste, and i plan on adding hazelnut extract right before bottling. The brew has been sitting for about 10 days after fermentation. Is that too long? Does anyone have any experience with brewing a chocolate porter? I know rogue adds a chocolate extract to their "Chocolate stout" to enhance the flavor. I'm considering this, but does anyone have any info. on doing this? I'm a newb brewer and want this beer to come out exceptionally good, as i will be giving this out as a christmas/ new years beer. Any info helps! Thanks :cross:

Bates_Foreman said: