Chill haze in secondary while cold crashing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BetterSense

Reaction score
Brewing a clear beer has been a personal goal since I started brewing and I haven't succeeded yet.

I have my pale ale in secondary, and I added gelatin this time. It totally cleared out the beer and I could see all the way through the carboy. I put some pellet hops in it in a hops sock a couple days ago and it was still clear. I wanted to bottle it so to help the hops settle I started cold crashing it by stacking ice jugs in my SOFC. I just checked it after a day or so and it was cloudy again. I think this might be what people call chill haze. Its going to depress me if I make a beer that is clear at room temp but hazes in the fridge. Will extended cold crashing help clear it up or should I just bottle it?

Brewing a clear beer has been a personal goal since I started brewing and I haven't succeeded yet.

I have my pale ale in secondary, and I added gelatin this time. It totally cleared out the beer and I could see all the way through the carboy. I put some pellet hops in it in a hops sock a couple days ago and it was still clear. I wanted to bottle it so to help the hops settle I started cold crashing it by stacking ice jugs in my SOFC. I just checked it after a day or so and it was cloudy again. I think this might be what people call chill haze. Its going to depress me if I make a beer that is clear at room temp but hazes in the fridge. Will extended cold crashing help clear it up or should I just bottle it?

Extended cold crashing will get rid of the chill haze! It's easier to prevent chill haze than getting rid of it, though, in my opinion. If you haven't used whirlfloc in the kettle, give that a try. It might really make a big difference.