Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Campden tablets, how many?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2008, 05:16 PM   #1
bull8042
I like 'em shaved
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
bull8042's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 10,279
Liked 445 Times on 443 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default Campden tablets, how many?

I just picked up a bottle of tabs from my LHBS. They are intended for some obscure (to me) wine making process. I want to use them to rid my tap water from chlorine/chloramines. The bottle says 1 tablet per gallon, but do I really need that much?

__________________
"I brew with a water cooler and some part from the toilet." - JohnnyO

"I do gravity feed the last gallon or two through my Therminator, but I expect you could suck start a Volkswagen before you could suck start one of these. - GilaMinumBeer

"..... Bull was right." - TXCurtis
bull8042 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2008, 06:25 PM   #2
SPLASTiK
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Juneau, AK
Posts: 546
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Default

One tablet will treat 20 gallons, so use only a quarter or half of the tablet to help it dissolve.

I chop one in half, crush one half and split the powder between mash and sparge additions with my 5 gal batches.
__________________
SPLASTiK is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2008, 06:52 PM   #3
Saccharomyces
Be good to your yeast...
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Saccharomyces's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pflugerville, Texas
Posts: 5,443
Liked 80 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Handy little things. I had some extra runnings from my barleywine, I tossed in a couple of crushed Campden tablets to preserve them and stuck the wort in the freezer to use for starters.

__________________
[How to Calculate Mash Efficiency | Do I Need a Yeast Starter? | My Ghetto Fermentation Chamber | Twitter | 6 Gal. HDPE Fermenters | Slanting Yeast | No Sparge Brewing]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soperbrew
big brother only monitors facebook and untappd
Saccharomyces is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2008, 07:46 PM   #4
Chupacabras
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: St. John
Posts: 135
Default

Campden tablets are used to inhibit bacterial growth. I use them when I use berries in my wine too. Defrost, crush a couple up and toss em in, seal sanitized container and leave it for 24 hours. Probably overkill since the berries are already sanitized (storebought) but if using fresh berries they're a must(haha get it?). Anyways, they're fine and dandy, like sour candy.

__________________
Chupacabras is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2008, 10:54 PM   #5
bull8042
I like 'em shaved
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
bull8042's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 10,279
Liked 445 Times on 443 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Cool, thanks guys!

__________________
"I brew with a water cooler and some part from the toilet." - JohnnyO

"I do gravity feed the last gallon or two through my Therminator, but I expect you could suck start a Volkswagen before you could suck start one of these. - GilaMinumBeer

"..... Bull was right." - TXCurtis
bull8042 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Campden Tablets? NicotineRush Recipes/Ingredients 10 07-21-2012 05:11 PM
how many campden tablets? plumber Cider Forum 4 11-14-2008 01:52 PM
Campden Tablets Phan71 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 10 08-12-2007 09:59 PM
campden tablets? jakith Wine Making Forum 4 01-13-2007 10:11 PM
Do i need to add campden tablets? nottsbrewer Cider Forum 3 01-06-2007 08:16 PM