LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2013, 03:04 PM   #1
Bassman2003
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default Brewing for Aroma

Hello,

I have been brewing for over ten years and am always trying to improve my process. Last year I had the good fortune of travelling to Belgium with my cousin and we sampled about as much beer as possible. One thing that really stood out to me was the aroma or "nose" most all of the Belgian beers had. Every style seemed to have this, not just the "funky" styles.

Which makes me wonder, is there a process to increase the nose of your beer?
Can you "brew for aroma"?

I had a couple different bottle of German Dunkleweizen recently and was blown away by the Weihenstephaner dunkelweizen. It had so much aroma coming out of the glass. This really added a lot to the enjoyment of the beer.

So any ideas or practices for increasing the aroma in beer? My first thought is towards yeast, but there is not much I can do about that. I make starters and earate my wort with O2.

Thanks for your input.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2013, 03:08 PM   #2
tre9er
Recipes 

Liked 232 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Late hops and yeast are the largest contributors to aroma. I dry-hop in the keg now, and have even cut out traditional "late hops" from the boil as they seem to disappear quickly anyway.

Some yeasts (including most belgians) are very aromatic, too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davekippen View Post
Open log Fermenting and gas-can secondary?? I am planning my next brew right now!!

Old 09-11-2013, 03:52 PM   #3
Bassman2003
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Thanks for your reply.

Just be clear, I am only speaking about malt or phenolic aroma, not hops. Hops are a completely different topic.

Old 09-11-2013, 05:20 PM   #4
ArcLight
Recipes 

Liked 43 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 48