Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Bottling with Honey

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2012, 01:03 AM   #1
CPFITNESS
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Bottling with Honey

So i would have put this in the bottling and kegging section but it seems like that section should be just called Kegging! I'm a newb with 4 batches under my belt, all recipes from the Brooklyn BrewShop book and they are big on using all natural elements so all the recipes pretty much call for honey or syrup for bottling. maple syrup is pretty thin and it easily seemed to mix into one of my batches. The first time I bottled with honey I goofed and racked to my bottling bucket and then added honey instead of racking on top of it. That time I boiled a cup of water and cooled it down and mixed it with the honey to thin it out a bit. Today I decided that I would just pour the straight honey into the bottling bucket and then rack on top of it. Things seemed to go fine but when I went to clean the bottling bucket after finishing bottling, it appeared that there was a fair amount of honey still stuck on the bottom of the bucket.

FWIW, the other beer that I primed with honey just went past the 2 week mark a couple days ago and i've had a few and it seems fully carbed but I'm just trying to get a feel for what the best practices are when using honey to carbonate.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2012, 01:31 AM   #2
BackwoodBrewery
Recipes 

I have an apiary (I'm a beekeeper) and if there is one thing that I know it is honey... and beer.