The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Barleywine storage/serving.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2008, 06:03 PM   #1
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 899 Times on 600 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default Barleywine storage/serving.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to big beers. Prior to this barleywine, my biggest had a 1.068 OG. I haven't bottled in a long time though I do have enough bottles for this batch.

What do you do with your barleywine? I have room/faucets for 5 kegs but I'm not quite sure I want to dedicate a pouring position to a beer that will absolutely last me more than a year. On the other hand, it would allow pulling a 4oz sipper rather than potentially wasting some out of a 12oz bottle.

It went from 1.118 down to 1.025 in just over a week so I racked it to secondary on some bourbon soaked oak chips and suppose it will age there for at least 3 months before I make a decision. I'd like to hear how you treat your big beers.

Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2008, 06:06 PM   #2
ShortSnoutBrewing
Kwanesum Chinook Illahee
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Thanks for bringing this up Bobby. I'm interested as well.

Old 07-09-2008, 06:09 PM   #3
ohiobrewtus

Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 4

BMBF. I personally don't want to take up a tap for 8%+ beers that I'm not going to drink very often. It's one of the few times where I'll actually bottle something.

Old 07-09-2008, 06:11 PM   #4
jrhammonds
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1