Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Anyone stick their kettle in the oven?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2013, 01:14 PM   #1
Johnnyhamer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 45

Default Anyone stick their kettle in the oven?

I'm new to grains and am wondering if any stovetop brewers do this. Seems like you could consistently keep the bash warm after you reach your temp on the stove.

Or is this just a terrible idea? Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-09-2013, 01:16 PM   #2
dstranger99
Recipes 

Liked 105 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Some people do, but I've found that if you just get the water a few degrees higher than your mash temp, once you add your grains, and put the lid on, your mash temp will be fine for the 60 or 90 min mash.

Primary: Caribou Slobber

Kegged: Stout

Bottled: Cent Blonde, Jakes Brown, Stout

I love Yooper........

Old 04-09-2013, 01:18 PM   #3
Johnnyhamer
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 45

Cool, much easier that way. I'm just mashing a gallon for a 2.5g partial grain batch so want it to keep the temp.

Old 04-09-2013, 01:24 PM   #4
jflongo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 64 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 5

If your kettle is small enough, putting your oven at 150, and putting that in the oven is a great way to ensure it retains temp. My kettles are all too large for my oven though.

Go Spartans!!

http://www.youtube.com/MrSparty1995

Johnnyhamer Likes This 
Old 04-09-2013, 02:41 PM   #5
Ddubduder
Brewing Addict
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 2