Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Chance to Enter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Anyone brew with Chinese herbs?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2008, 03:14 PM   #1
Quikfeet509
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Anyone brew with Chinese herbs?

I am probably getting ahead of myself since my first batch just made it into a secondary and the entire process has been a comedy of errors, but I was wondering if anyone incorporates the use of herbs in their beers. I have a degree in acupuncture and Chinese herbal medicine and I am familiar with 300+ herbs [most of which would probably suck in beer] and I have access to reputable supply companies. I am also aware of the Sacred and Healing Herbal Beers, although I haven't gotten around to purchasing it yet.

I was think of using herbs that might taste good [Gou Qi Zi, Da Zao, Huang Qi], might have beneficial effects [Ren Shen, some of the digestive herbs], or that might have interesting side-effects [Dang Shen (read: Salvia)].

Anyone?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2008, 03:33 PM   #2
bernerbrau
Recipes 

Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Ooh, now I think I want to maybe try some ginseng and make an energy beer! Or Yin Yang Huo for... ya know....

Old 09-06-2008, 03:53 PM   #3
ericd
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Well that's the great thing about homebrewing, you are free to try whatever you want!

Old 09-06-2008, 03:59 PM   #4
Quikfeet509
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by bernerbits View Post
Ooh, now I think I want to maybe try some ginseng and make an energy beer! Or Yin Yang Huo for... ya know....
I do know...and I think it would go over well with pretty much everyone involved [once I could find a way to mask the taste...not a big fan of the flavor].

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericd View Post
Well that's the great thing about homebrewing, you are free to try whatever you want!