Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Aging beer: Facts, myths, and discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2010, 02:12 PM   #161
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 235 Times on 204 Posts
Likes Given: 387

i'm still struggling with this. it took my porter 2 months of keg aging to become tasty. it was drinkable after 3 weeks in the keg, but wasn't close to great until after 2 months.

i make starters, but have no stir plate. is it really just about more yeast?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-14-2010, 06:26 AM   #162
Malticulous
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 56 Times on 47 Posts
Likes Given: 74

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuri_Rage View Post
But, Yuri, I bottle condition my beer! Well, my friend, you have to wait an extra 2-3 weeks. There's no getting around that. Yeast work slowly when under pressure in an alcoholic environment. Patience is still a virtue..
I just started kegging. I still bottle half of all my batches. The bottles are better long before the kegs.

I'm an excellent bottler. I can carb mid gravity beers in three days. To do that in a keg may require shaking back up the sediment. C02 from bottle conditioning comes from within the beer. In a keg it comes forced in from the top. C02 will stay in suspension in a bottle under pressure. It will take time or agitation to go into suspension in a keg. Lower temperatures help in the kegs but is not as effective as bottle conditioning can be (agitation is the only way to beat it.).

A bottle is much smaller. Sediment will settle on the bottom faster. Cooler kegging temps assistant sedimentation but a keg is so much bigger that when compared with my fast bottle carb times the storage temp is irrelevant.

My kegs have took three times as long as my bottles to get as good. I need to become an expert kegger.