Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > Water profile advice...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2013, 03:16 PM   #1
thekage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Water profile advice...

I am a newb to water chemistry. I just got my water report from the city water plant. And I have read the primer stickied at top several times. But I'm not sure I'm reading the report accuratly. I'm not really looking for any style specific suggestions at this point, but more like anything in general I should be doing to my water to make it more compatible for brewing all styles of beer. Thanks!

--
Dry Hopped Session Amber

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2013, 03:51 PM   #2
GotPushrods
Bearded Lagerjack
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 59 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Here's the important stuff, in mg/l:

Total Alkalinity: 96
Calcium: 45
Magnesium: 10
Chloride: 25
Sulfate: 50
Sodium: 22
Metals: OK
Chlorine/Chloramine: not mentioned

Your first step is to de-chlorinate the water. The exact levels aren't mentioned, but it's not ultimately important. Read the Campden tablet sticky.

The alkalinity will need to be neutralized for most beers. Acid malt will be easier to measure than small doses of phosphoric or lactic acid, but either will do. (Edit: although acid malt will begin to have a flavor impact with the amounts you'll need for lighter beers.)

The sulfate is at the top end of my brewing spectrum, and the low end for many others'. (Opinions are like assholes, right?) There are lots of words to describe what sulfate does to hops. "Accentuate". "Enhance". I think it makes them more "harsh", but you should experiment for yourself.