Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > Water chemistry Primer questions/advice

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2010, 04:20 PM   #1
grathan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 112 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 67

Default Water chemistry Primer questions/advice

It says to sharpen hop bitterness use additional sulfate. Sulfate wasn't mentioned in the baseline additions. One of the other posts refers to Gypsum as being (calcium sulfate). Is it add gypsum to increase hop bitterness?

It says for more sweetness add chloride. Is chloride the same as the aforementioned calcium chloride dihydrate?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2010, 04:24 PM   #2
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 235 Times on 204 Posts
Likes Given: 387

what about really hard and salty water?

Na - 211
HCO3 - 352

Old 10-13-2010, 05:44 PM   #3
ajdelange
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 613 Times on 506 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by grathan View Post
It says to sharpen hop bitterness use additional sulfate. Sulfate wasn't mentioned in the baseline additions. One of the other posts refers to Gypsum as being (calcium sulfate). Is it add gypsum to increase hop bitterness?
Sulfate isn't in the baseline because lots of people don't like sulfate. The guideline does recommend some gyspsum (CaSO4.2H2O) for those doing British beers because they are commonly brewed with fairly gypseous water.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grathan View Post
It says for more sweetness add chloride. Is chloride the same as the aforementioned calcium chloride dihydrate?
Yes - CaCl2.2H2O.

Quote:
Originally Posted by motobrewer

what about really hard and salty water?

Na - 211
HCO3 - 352