Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > Using R/O water for brewing.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2010, 06:12 AM   #31
arturo7
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 142 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Fear not g-510, we shall find a way!

Hey, knock that shvt off. We're drinkin' here.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2010, 02:18 PM   #32
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 207 Times on 182 Posts
Likes Given: 366

is there any way to get Mg without overloading SO4?

to emulate, say, milwaukee water (47ppm Mg, 26ppm SO4) you need relatively high Mg and relatively low SO4.

Is epsom salt the only way to get Mg? It has too high levels SO4....

Old 01-07-2010, 02:42 PM   #33
Mirilis
Lvl 10 Beer Nerd
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts

Subscribed.. im just starting to dabble with water chemistry. I also recently purchased a 5 stage RO system so I can start to collect my brewing water. It would be awsome if that spreadsheet exists so I can do quick reference.

I still want to study the ions and figure out additions on my own but Id like to be able to check it.

=============
I have no cool threads to link.

Old 01-07-2010, 02:57 PM   #34
ryane
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

there are several programs out there that do all of the calculations for you

http://home.roadrunner.com/~brewbeer....html#Software

is one, and its pretty good, and those that say they only know styles and not water profiles, well if you know a style you know where it was that made it famous right? whammo thats you water profile to use, and you can get your water profile from your locat utility