New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > Refilling CO2 Tanks with Dry Ice?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2012, 09:25 PM   #21
ShepFL
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Approx. $20 for 20# here in Jax, FL metro area. 4.95 for hydro test.
Helgat gas. For that price I am not gonna destroy a tank and try to beat ice into it.

Be the person you would want as a friend because at the end of the game the King and Pawn go in the same box.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 01:22 AM   #22
Rbeckett
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 60 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Quote:
Originally Posted by acidrain View Post
Rbeckett, where do you get your info? I don't see any evidence of price spikes due to any of the reasons you mention. Seems like local price gouging to me.
I was a Hzmat certified driver and it cost me 100 for a state of Fl background check, and the hazmat fees at my local welding supply went from 3 to 12 dollars per tank. When I asked why I was being charged hazmat fees for non hazardous gas, they replied that as of the first of Jan 2012, ALL transactions would have a 7% hazmat fee with a minimum 1.00 per ticket charge. I understand Hydrogen, Acetyline, even Oxygen, but CO2 and Argon in addition to Helium, cmon guys that is just an excuse to exploit a profit and revenue stream. Their attitude was it you want it you will pay it. Now I use a mom and pop gas supplier and am much happier with the service, price and reasonablness of there fee structure. So no anecdotal info, real world "it happened to me" situation.
Bob

What do you mean "no Kidneys"???, WTF now I gotta drink less beer...
Join the Automation sub forum in Electric brewing for a discussion of components and control systems. I did!!!!

Old 09-24-2012, 05:30 AM   #23
acidrain
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 98 Times on 86 Posts