Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > reading a hydrometer and hydrometer vs. refractometer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2011, 03:40 PM   #11
Patirck
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I'm not a chemist - but do pretend to be one when I use hydrometers and refractometers.

I have used a hydrometer since I started brewing and to me, the difference between the top and bottom of the meniscus probably something less than my eyes can make out unless I bother to put my glasses on.

Getting back to your original question - I just bought a refractometer a few weeks ago and have done 4 brew sessions with it. It is very handy during the mash and boil. I found myself taking readings of first runnings last runnings, pre boil during the boil etc. The abilty to take a reading without having to worry about temperature and only using a drop or two of wort is very handy indeed.

The refractometer is best used before there is alcohol involved. Once gravity has started to drop (you've made some alcohol, you have to use a calculator to correct the reading. The same 4 batches of beer are fermenting right now and I learned the stupid way that the refractometer reading has to go through a correction process once sugar has been converted to alcohol (remember when I said I'm not a chemist?). The advantage during fermentation is that you only sacrifice a few drops of beer for gravity sample instead of a cup or so to get your hydrometer floating. There is also much less sanitizing involved - only the tip of the dropper touches the beer.

I tested all for batches with hydrometer and used refractometer and the brewmate correction calculator and they all came out the same.