The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > Phosphoric Acid vs Lactic Acid

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2011, 07:07 PM   #1
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4202 Times on 3059 Posts
Likes Given: 779

Default Phosphoric Acid vs Lactic Acid

I have a fresh bottle of phosphoric acid. I've never used it before, but I saw on Braukaiser's website that 0.1-0.135 ml would lower mash pH by 0.1, while the amount of lactic acid used for the same drop would be 0.125-0.21 ml.

I typically use 5 ml of lactic 88% in 5 gallons of sparge water. Can I assume roughly the same amount for using the phosphoric acid to start?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2011, 07:28 PM   #2
wildwest450
Recipes 

Liked 163 Times on 149 Posts
Likes Given: 4

I was always under the assumption that you used lactic acid for the mash and phosphoric only if you treated sparge water.

-

Old 12-28-2011, 09:32 PM   #3
mabrungard
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 174 Times on 152 Posts
Likes Given: 24

I'm hoping that there is a strength indication on that phosphoric acid, like 10% or 75%.

To get to the point, you can't assume the use of phosphoric will be like your use with lactic. The acid strength may be quite different.

There is a full-featured acidification calculator in Bru'n Water for those who wonder how much acid they should be adding to their water. That will enable Yooper to figure this problem out.

PS: you can use any type of acid you want for either mash or sparge.

Martin B
Carmel, IN
BJCP National
Foam Blowers of Indiana (FBI)

Brewing Water Information at:
https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/

Like Bru'n Water on Facebook for occasional discussions on brewing water and Bru'n Water

TobyG Likes This 
Old 12-28-2011, 09:37 PM   #4
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4202 Times on 3059 Posts
Likes Given: 779

Quote: