Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > pH Meter
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2012, 05:31 PM   #1
RDWHAHB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 834
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default pH Meter

I bought a bench pH meter. Now I need a pH electrode with a BNC connection. Anybody got a good source?

This is the best price I am seeing:
http://www.amazon.com/Oakton-WD-3580...948145&sr=1-13

__________________
RDWHAHB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2012, 05:43 PM   #2
ajdelange
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: McLean/Ogden, Virginia/Quebec
Posts: 5,916
Liked 580 Times on 480 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Which meter did you get? On the one hand there is little point in getting a high performance electrode for an inexpensive meter but, OTOH, you wouldn't want a cheap electrode for a high performance meter.

If the meter is a $100 - 200 instrument then I am sure this electrode would be fine for use with it.

__________________
ajdelange is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2012, 05:49 PM   #3
RDWHAHB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 834
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I got this meter:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI...E:L:OC:US:1123

I think it is a pretty high end meter. I hate to drop too much $$ on the probe since they wear out, but also hate buying things twice when I decide I want things to work better...

I'll need to put a new power supply on it (the AC/DC converter is for Canada I think)

__________________
RDWHAHB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2012, 05:59 PM   #4
onthekeg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,788
Liked 73 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

That probe should be fine for that meter. I would get a tmp probe or a 3in1 probe for it so you can utilize the ATC function also.

__________________
onthekeg is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2012, 06:25 PM   #5
ajdelange
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: McLean/Ogden, Virginia/Quebec
Posts: 5,916
Liked 580 Times on 480 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

That's a pretty nice meter which is, I assume, being sold so cheaply as it is a dicontinued model. It has specs which indicate that it can support a higher quality electrode. The first step up is to double junction models such as http://www.coleparmer.com/Product/pH...or/EW-59001-70. This only increases the price a few $ and will prolong the life of the electrode. I'd estimate 6 mos life for a single junction and 1 year for a double junction. A very good electrode would cost over $200 but the ones I have been using last over 2 years and hold calibration for weeks.

Note that you will also need a thermister based temperature probe (or will have to measure the temperature by other means and enter it manually into the instrument), buffers (4 and 7) and storage solution for whichever electrode you decide on.

And Canada is 110 so that wall wart wouldn't work in Canada either. You will need a 1/2 amp 9 V wall wart which you can get at radio shack. You can cut the connector from the 220 V unit you have and splice onto the wires from the new unit. Be very careful to get the polarity right. You can also take the unit to Radio Shack and possibly get a wall wart with matching connector or at least an adapter.

The temperature probe is probably 2.5 mm phone but you can find that out at Radio Shack too.

__________________
ajdelange is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2012, 06:31 PM   #6
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Thiensville, Wisconsin
Posts: 6,736
Liked 220 Times on 192 Posts
Likes Given: 374

Default

230vac? one could probably find a 120v to 9V 200mA transformer though....

__________________
Quote:
The man who intoxicates himself on bad whisky is sometimes moved to kill his wife and set his house on fire, but the victim of applejack is capable of blowing up a whole town with dynamite and of reciting original poetry to every surviving inhabitant.

– "A Wicked Beverage," New York Times, April 10, 1894
motobrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2012, 06:35 PM   #7
RDWHAHB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 834
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I might step up to the double junction. With increased accuracy and life I think I can justify that.

That's exactly the plan for power. I grabbed a 9VDC wall wart (My work shop has a box of old ones). I'll hack the plug off the supplied on and solder it on.

__________________
RDWHAHB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2012, 06:39 PM   #8
ajdelange
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: McLean/Ogden, Virginia/Quebec
Posts: 5,916
Liked 580 Times on 480 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

It's been my experience that it is easy to find in a given country what you need to make stuff in the country you are in work over seas but not conversely. IOW you will find a ton of stuff at Radio Shacks in the USA, at the airport etc for converting 220 (overseas) voltage and plugs to 110 but not the other way around. With modern switching power supplies for almost everything stepup/stepdown transformers are becoming rare as most warts will do 50 - 60 Hz and 100 - 240 VAC and are lots lighter than a transformer. But in principle a step up transformer would work. OTOH OP should have no trouble finding a half amp 9 VDC wall wart at Radio Shack.

__________________
ajdelange is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2012, 01:14 PM   #9
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Thiensville, Wisconsin
Posts: 6,736
Liked 220 Times on 192 Posts
Likes Given: 374

Default

errr

__________________
Quote:
The man who intoxicates himself on bad whisky is sometimes moved to kill his wife and set his house on fire, but the victim of applejack is capable of blowing up a whole town with dynamite and of reciting original poetry to every surviving inhabitant.

– "A Wicked Beverage," New York Times, April 10, 1894
motobrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2012, 02:49 PM   #10
RDWHAHB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 834
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

How about this puppy:

http://www.amazon.com/Oakton-WD-3580...024104&sr=1-11

When using pH meters I need to calibrate often, store the electrode in storage solution (not dry or DI). Anything else?

I use a cooler MLT. Do I just draw a sample off, cool it, and measure. Then circulate wort if I add any additions? I think Gordon Strong says to measure at mash temp, but I thought most literature references room temp. Is there a good how-to for this?

ajdelange- my last 2 beers with your RO + additions method have been great. That's why I'm buying this.

__________________
RDWHAHB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best PH Meter cooper Brew Science 4 12-22-2011 09:16 PM
Using a pH meter nilo Brew Science 9 06-07-2011 12:14 AM
Looking for PH Meter Suggestions RonRock Brew Science 43 04-20-2011 12:04 PM
pH Meter vs 5.2 pH Stabilizer bopgun23 Brew Science 30 03-09-2011 04:31 PM
Proper use of a pH meter EvilBrewer Brew Science 18 12-21-2010 06:01 PM