Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > organic chemistry labs

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2012, 02:15 AM   #1
Saccharomycetaceae
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default organic chemistry labs

Hi,
Does anyone know where I could find some organic chemistry labs, or ideas for labs designed for an organic chemistry course.
I'm thinking things along the lines of hop oil extraction and the chemistry behind it or different malt things like the production of dimethyl sulfide pre and post fermentation or even yeast things. Getting into biochemistry would also be fine.
I'm a student who, due to my senior project which was to start a beer "CSA," has missed all of the organic chemistry labs this term and now am scrambling to due lab write-ups on things relevant to my education and project.
Any ideas?
Thanks a lot.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 02:26 AM   #2
Zbay
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 9

You might want to check out the M.I.T. Open course ware, they have basic chemistry to physical chemistry. So I'm sure if you looked hard enough you would be able to find what you are looking for.

Old 02-27-2012, 02:28 AM   #3
Zbay
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts

here is the link to the home page hope that helps. http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/materials-science-and-engineering/3-091sc-introduction-to-solid-state-chemistry-fall-2010/27-introduction-to-organic-chemistry/

Old 02-27-2012, 02:39 AM   #4
Saccharomycetaceae
Recipes 

Great,
Thanks a lot. I'll check that out right now.

Old 02-27-2012, 04:41 AM   #5
dwarven_stout
Recipes 

Liked 34 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Wait. So you missed a month or two of O-Chem labs, and you school is letting you make them up by writing about beer? Huh.

"I can't believe how many people think Air Lock is pronounced Hydrometer." -BigKahuna