Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > How can I get the chalk to dissolve?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2012, 12:53 PM   #41
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 207 Times on 182 Posts
Likes Given: 366

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdaddybrew View Post
Motobrewer, Ever think that this thread is my so many brewers only lurk and never post?.
why would this thread make people "never post"?

i really don't understand it.
The man who intoxicates himself on bad whisky is sometimes moved to kill his wife and set his house on fire, but the victim of applejack is capable of blowing up a whole town with dynamite and of reciting original poetry to every surviving inhabitant.

– "A Wicked Beverage," New York Times, April 10, 1894

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2012, 01:22 PM   #42
ajdelange
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 536 Times on 439 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by motobrewer View Post
but aj is. [a chemist]
Actually I'm not and don't want to appear to be posing as one. It's probably apparent that I have a technical background but it is in electrical engineering. Brewing has forced me to pick up some chemistry along the way, however. Note that most of what we seem concerned with in consideration of brewing water, i.e. all the pH, concentration, activity, species distribution..., belongs to physical chemistry.
Old 11-03-2012, 01:54 PM   #43
bigdaddybrew
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 107

Why would someone new read this thread and be hesitate to post?

Quote:
Originally Posted by motobrewer View Post
nothing like squandering a great opportunity to learn...ignore the science because it worked for you in the past...have you ever thought you were making good beer in spite of your water process...