Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > Help With Phenols (I Think)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2013, 08:11 PM   #1
JeffoC6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 52 Times on 28 Posts

Default Help With Phenols (I Think)

I have another thread currently on the beginning forum, but I have a feeling my answers my lie in this forum.

I started brewing 1 Gallon All Grain batches back in February 2012. I have my process down and pretty much hit my numbers like clockwork. In the time I've been brewing, I have brewed everything from IPA's, to Stouts, to Porters, to Belgian Christmas Beers, to Pumpkin Ales, to Apfelwein. I started out using Poland Springs Spring water as my base. The first bunch of beers I made, I used this water. I noticed that there was a very sharp flavor in my beer, that I noticed especially when I burped. It was sort of tart, plastic-y, and just not a good flavor at all. It was somewhat apparent on the tongue, but very apparent in each burp.

I tried to alleviate this off flavor for some time. Some said I was overcarbonating, some said I had infections, and some blamed my water. Using some tips from Yooper and this forum (Brew Science), I decided to move forward with using distilled water only, and adding some calcium chloride to my water. I also was told that my mash (I was doing full volume BIAB) might have been too thin, and I may be screwing up my pH. So I changed to distilled water with calcium chloride and I lowered my BIAB water volume by about 25% (I added the water to a separate pot and now mash with less water, causing a thicker mash. I then dunk sparge in the separate pot and then combine everything).