Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > Do breweries adjust water profiles?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2013, 08:19 PM   #1
oujens
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Do breweries adjust water profiles?

I'm still somewhat new to brewing. I've currently made 5 all grain batches and continually seek to improve my process and lower costs. I currently use Ozarka Spring water with no adjustments. I would like to get away from purchasing spring water and investigate ways to use my tap water. In general, do all breweries adjust their water to target certain profiles for different styles of beer? I understand the mash pH is the main focus, but didn't now if they adjust sulfates for bitter beers, add calcium, etc. This may also depend on a brewery's local water profile, but I couldn't find any information to see if breweries add salts to their water and for what purpose (mash pH or also to enhance certain styles).

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 08:40 PM   #2
Hermit
Recipes 

Liked 67 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Have you read the primer? No need to over think it at this point. You just need to understand the basics of what water makes a good beer to YOUR taste.

Old 02-10-2013, 09:15 PM   #3
oujens
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Yes, I read the primer which was very informative. I was just curious if anyone knew if breweries, in general, adjusted their water and for what purpose. The reason I ask about breweries is there is one locally that I have heard only filters their water using a charcoal filter and no other adjustments. I definitely plan on using the primer as a resource for my brewing.

Old 02-10-2013, 09:24 PM   #4
Hermit
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by oujens View Post