The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > A Brewing Water Chemistry Primer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2013, 03:35 AM   #561
periwinkle1239
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I know that barleywine's are not specifically mentioned in the primer but I suppose I would stick with a simple approach. 1 tsp of calcium chloride per 5 gal of water, and then perhaps if you want to enhance some of the bitterness you could use 1 tsp of gypsum as well. I'd say the gypsum would be optional but I would probably use it myself. And then I'm thinking you'll still want to include some acid malt for pH reduction since you're not using roasted malts. Maybe 2%, although I'm not a pH expert.

I invested and started using RO water a few months ago and most certainly notice a difference in a positive way. I stick to the primer for the most part and keep my salt additions simple. I also invested in a pH meter and tried to use it but have struggled with calibration and readings so I've shelved it for now.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2013, 05:04 PM   #562
allenH
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 2046 Times on 1124 Posts
Likes Given: 990

I've been searching this thread (and others) trying to find out how much acidulated malt I need for BM's Cream of 3 Crops. This recipe has 5lbs of adjuncts (10gal) do they count towards the total grain bill to get my 2-4% acidulated malt? I asked the guy at my LHBS last night and he had no clue either.

*edit- I use 100% RO incase that matters.

Old 02-01-2013, 06:32 PM   #563
DustBow
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I "believe" only the roasted grains will pull the pH down and adjuncts would/should just be counted as base grains but I'm far from the expert here