New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brew Science > A Brewing Water Chemistry Primer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2012, 11:55 PM   #531
andycr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 40 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 20

I'm a beginner to water chemistry, but I sometimes use slaked lime when I simply can't get enough calcium any other way and don't want to resort to chalk. Pretty rare case though.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2012, 11:56 PM   #532
KaSaBiS
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by afr0byte View Post
I've never brewed a Dortmunder, so I can't provide specific numbers, but in general you want a lot of minerals in a Dortmunder.
yeah. its pretty intimidating. So Since I was basiclly dilluting my existing profile to match munich's for the last few brews, then on the dortmunder profile it states a sulfate of 330ppm and Chloride 130ppm. going from 18/8 to 330/130 is pretty intense.

I just got a Mr Beer kit and want to brew a Double Imperial Blueberry Heffy Witesit....we have no air conditioning and live next to the sun...do you think I can logger and bottle this in time for a party I will be having next week?

Old 01-07-2013, 03:00 PM   #533
thekage
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Delete please

--
Dry Hopped Session Amber

Old 01-08-2013, 07:21 PM   #534
gizmodog51
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

excellent info! with this and a water profile i can't go wrong!

GD

Old 01-09-2013, 10:24 PM   #535
DeltaRage
Recipes 

Default Sauermalz v. Lactic acid (for sparging)

How much does sauermalz malt reduce the pH of the sparge? How does this affect the sauermalz strategy for pH reduction?