Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > What is Lambic & Wild Brewing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2011, 04:02 PM   #1
mikelikesit2000
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default What is Lambic & Wild Brewing

I have been brewing for a couple of years. I have heard of making beers with wild yeast, and have read posts about pitching bugs to the fermenter's. But I cannot find a "one stop" thread explaining "What is Lambic & Wild brewing". I am looking for something explained in a fairly simple way that answers some basic questions. Yes, I could go buy a book that ONE guy wrote, or I can ask here and get the best parts of hundreds of books that were never written by all of you.

So...Who? What? WHY???How? These are my question's, Now tune me up!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2011, 07:06 PM   #2
nebben
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Lambic is a style of beer that originates from Belgium. Spontaneous fermentation occurs on these beers with wild yeast and bacteria. Lambics are commonly dry, vinous, and cidery, with a slightly sour aftertaste.

Some folks make lambics at home using cultured commercially available yeast and bacteria culture.

Personally, I like Lambics very much. The ones I've tasted have all been unique and good to drink. I like blended lambics, such as Geuze, more than others since the complexities of the flavors is just awesome. Geuze is something I'll drink maybe once or twice a year, with some food that compliments it well.

Old 01-31-2011, 02:19 PM   #3
Oldsock
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 189 Times on 129 Posts
Likes Given: 115