Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > is it too late to add bugs?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2009, 12:10 AM   #1
sipNswirl
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default is it too late to add bugs?

Hi there, I brewed a very malty beer with munich, rye and crystal on wednesday. it's down to 1.012 and tastes too malty for my liking. i was thinking about adding some commercial lacto to sour it up a little bit.
is it too late for bugs? if so can i add some sugar at the same time for some food?
I've never done a sour beer before. cheers!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2009, 01:23 AM   #2
Orangevango
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Its never too late for bugs!

Old 12-13-2009, 04:59 PM   #3
ryane
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

WY or WL lacto isnt going to do anything at this point in your beer, the alcohol will inhibit it

You could add other bugs, and especially bottle dregs

But, I dont think it will always make a good beer, I think too many people have the idea now that brett/pedio/etc are a fix all, and its not, it used to be that everyone thought champagne yeast was a cure all for problems with attenuation etc, it wasnt either

if its too malty brew up another batch, but make it very dry and hoppy, then blend in your glass

Old 12-13-2009, 07:04 PM   #4
sipNswirl
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryane View Post
WY or WL lacto isnt going to do anything at this point in your beer, the alcohol will inhibit it

You could add other bugs, and especially bottle dregs

But, I dont think it will always make a good beer, I think too many people have the idea now that brett/pedio/etc are a fix all, and its not, it used to be that everyone thought champagne yeast was a cure all for problems with attenuation etc, it wasnt either