Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > Source For Brettanomyces Anomalus?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2010, 02:21 AM   #1
thelorax121
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Source For Brettanomyces Anomalus?

So I am just getting into Brett fermentations, and I am looking to split a 5 gal batch and ferment one with Brett. A and the other with Brett. C. The problem is, I can't seem to find a source for any cultures of Brett. A from Wyeast, White Labs or otherwise. Does anyone have an inside source for this strain so I can get my Brett career a-goin'?

Worst case scenario, I have a starter from the dregs of two bottles of Avery 15 that seems to be taking off that I could pitch in place of the Brett A. Again, I am new to Brett, so while it looks like a layer of yeast is forming at the bottom of the flask, I am not sure on the time-line, or the visual clues for an actively fermenting Brett starter, so input on this would be helpful too. Thanks in advance for the input!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2010, 04:35 AM   #2
carnevoodoo
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 5

http://madfermentationist.blogspot.c...alus-brew.html

Email that guy or ask someone on the Babble Belt homebrew forum. Those guys will have it or know where to get it.

Old 02-09-2010, 01:54 AM   #3
Saccharomyces
Be good to your yeast...
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 80 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 2

The Avery 15 dregs should work fine, just keep in mind brett grows slower than sacc yeast so it will take about a week to get a big enough starter built up to pitch. If you have a warm place (~80*F) for the starter, that will also help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soperbrew
big brother only monitors facebook and untappd

Old 02-09-2010, 05:14 AM   #4
Jaymo
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts