Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > Preparing Used Wine Barrel for Beer Solera

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2012, 05:23 PM   #21
levifunk
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 38 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 39

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigljd View Post
I'm not a barrel expert, but from what I've read those small 5 gal barrels normally have pretty thin staves on them which allow a lot of O2 to permeate through the wood - this could be the cause of your acetic problem after 4 months. 60 gal barrels should have thicker staves and there is less overall exposure to the wood which will reduce the O2 levels in the barrel.

Not saying the OP's old barrel is OK to use, I don't know. But you can't really compare the performance of a 5 gal barrel to a 60 gallon barrel.
I waxed the outside of the 5 gallon barrel to have comparable O2 permeation as a 60 gallon.
http://funkfactorybrewing.blogspot.c...ng-barrel.html

OP's barrel has sat empty for 3 years. That 5 gallon barrel sat empty for 2 years. I cleaned that barrel better than OP did his. I've got to imagine its an acetobacter love-nest inside.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2012, 03:34 AM   #22
CadillacAndy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 87 Times on 74 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Instead of starting a new thread, I figured I'd just add to this one - what do you guys think about this barrel - http://www.ebay.com/itm/30-Gallons-U...06%26rk%3D1%26 ?

Also, I've had 3 people take a sniff at my barrels - the one is junk. So gross that mold came pouring out when I dumped it. The other one is looking and smelling good. No one has detected vinegar, even after they sniffed and then I mentioned it. I pressure washed it, sulphered it and now have 59 gallons of citric acid solution sitting in it. I haven't taken a culture yet, but that is my next step just to make sure.