Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > Extremely Fast Sour?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2013, 12:11 AM   #11
lowtones84
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 189

Hops are supposed to inhibit lacto, yeah, but it still seems awful fast to me. I also had mine in a glass carboy and never saw anything funky goin' on, though it was only in there for 3 or 4 weeks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2013, 01:44 AM   #12
Calder
Recipes 

Liked 245 Times on 218 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendj1 View Post
Based on just our two experiences, I would guess maybe hops slow down lacto? I dunno. I have no real experience with purposefully getting lacto.
Hops will inhibit growth of lactobacillus. Different strains of lacto have different levels of resistance to it. Some Lacto cannot stand any hops at all.

Lacto can be done in 24 hours. There are 3 phases to Lacto. The first is the lag stage, which can be from a few hours to a few days. During this time the lacto gets used to the medium. The second stage is the growth stage where it multiplies and creates the lactic acid. This is basically an exponential growth stage and can double it's population in as little as 20 minutes. Doubling just a few times and it is done. Generally I assume that once it starts to sour, it is done in about 24 hours. The third stage is dormancy - it's done.

Old 04-25-2013, 02:15 AM   #13
reverendj1
Recipes 

Liked 86 Times on 70 Posts
Likes Given: 113

Well I'm drinking the beer made from the second runnings right now. It was exposed to the exact same conditions at the exact same time and I might be picking up just the tiniest bit of sourness. I'm not entirely sure though, as I've never had a commercial gruit before, so my tongue may be playing tricks on me with the lack of hops and over analyzing it.

Old 04-25-2013, 02:26 AM   #14
smokinghole