New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > color change after bottling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2013, 02:15 PM   #11
cageybee
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 139

why would anyone want to use oxyclean on carboys? seems like a risk to me, but I'm just a noob......interesting that infected brews seem to happen to veteran home-brewers (per this forum), wonder if the same phenomena is at work here....

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2013, 02:31 PM   #12
Ryush806
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 87 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Quote:
Originally Posted by cageybee
why would anyone want to use oxyclean on carboys? seems like a risk to me, but I'm just a noob......interesting that infected brews seem to happen to veteran home-brewers (per this forum), wonder if the same phenomena is at work here....
Oxyclean is widely used to clean homebrewing equipment. It is similar to Five Star's Powdered Brewery Wash. It works great and as long as you rinse well there's no residue leftover.

Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.
- Benjamin Franklin (and I don't care if this quote has been largely discredited/misquoted...I like it!)

Beer, if drank with moderation, softens the temper, cheers the spirit and promotes health.
- Thomas Jefferson

Old 03-28-2013, 03:00 PM   #13
cageybee
Recipes 

might be similar....how similar? PBW was formulated for brewers (coors) oxyclean was not? ...dunno

Old 03-28-2013, 04:05 PM   #14
mot
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cageybee View Post
might be similar....how similar? PBW was formulated for brewers (coors) oxyclean was not? ...dunno
oxyclean is used by many brewers on cleaning, similar but not the same.
DO a google search plenty of reading to disban your myth

Old 03-28-2013, 04:42 PM   #15
ShawDeuce22
Recipes