Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > Calling all blenders

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2010, 07:09 AM   #1
Ketchepillar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Calling all blenders

So who does this? Tell us about it. I think it would be awesome to have a whole load of carboys of sour beer around of various types and ages to blend and bottle as I please. Any homebrewers out there so adventurous as to make gueuze complete with figuring out the quantity of young lambic to put in for carbonation, but not bottle bombs? That sounds amazing, but I think I'll wait till I have lots of sour brewing experience till I try my hand at that kind of predicting. Still can't wait to have lots of sour things around for blending though.

Up Next: Coffee Stouts, Brett Beers, More Sours, Quad, Brown
Primary: Sour
Secondary: Sour
On Tap:
Bottled: The Queenella Dugbe RIS, Avlan RIS,

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-10-2010, 04:21 PM   #2
Oldsock
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 189 Times on 129 Posts
Likes Given: 115

I've dabled a bit, but so far it has just been in the glass, or a special blend to put on tap for a party. The issue is dealing with the extra beer that isn't blended (not a great idea to leave half full carboys sitting around).

Check out The Mad Fermentationist for my adventures in fermentation and my book: American Sour Beers!

Old 05-10-2010, 04:35 PM   #3
ryane
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Ive started to do a lot of this in the last year, and I find my sours have been significantly better because of it, I used to only blend to make gueuze, but I never tried to figure out ratios for carbonation, instead i just used heavy glass and primed slightly lower