Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > Brett vs lacto

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2012, 02:17 PM   #11
Braufessor
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 427 Times on 302 Posts
Likes Given: 344

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaz4121 View Post
The flavor contributed by Brettanomyces is often called barnyard, but has also been described as gamy, or as smelling like damp wool, leather, wet fur, a sweaty saddle or horse blanket, or a butcher
I am relatively new to sour beers, but have been trying them for the past year and have two attempts in secondary ferment..... but for the life of me, I just cannot get past the above description. I always see it in relation to brett, and it is beyond me how any of those things could ever be perceived as desirable in any beverage......ever.
Mmmmmmmm your beer is so good - it tastes like gamy, sweaty, wet, horse. Please pour me another

For me that pretty much steers towards more of lacto, than brett flavors I am looking for. I have used the Roeselare blend in both of the ones I did. Figured I would use the "shotgun" approach as a beginner.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 02:38 PM   #12
TNGabe
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2189 Times on 1483 Posts
Likes Given: 2170

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braufessor

I am relatively new to sour beers, but have been trying them for the past year and have two attempts in secondary ferment..... but for the life of me, I just cannot get past the above description. I always see it in relation to brett, and it is beyond me how any of those things could ever be perceived as desirable in any beverage......ever.
Mmmmmmmm your beer is so good - it tastes like gamy, sweaty, wet, horse. Please pour me another