Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > Brett stout/porter/whatever

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2013, 01:13 PM   #11
joshrosborne
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 46

Quote:
Originally Posted by cluckk View Post
You can keep that cake going for years if you have the patience and the equipment.
For sure. I've been using yeast from the same pack of WY3068 for going on two years now. Definitely got my money out of that smack pack.

Primary: Lacto Brevis Berliner Weisse
Secondary/Aging: ECY01 Sour #1, ECY01 Sour #2, The Yeast Bay Melange Sour
In bottles: Mango sour, Lambic, Brett tripel, Sour brown, Brett L/B Porter
Kegged: Hefeweizen, Two Hearted clone, Jamil's Sweet Stout with Raspberries

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2013, 10:09 AM   #12
joshrosborne
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

I checked on this last night (+8 days) and the krausen has fallen and gravity was just about at 1.01. I almost think there must have been some sacch. in those dregs, though, because the taste is very mild. No funk from either the B or L and no cherry notes from the L. I'm going to leave it a lone for a couple more weeks and see if the gravity falls any more before bottling.

Old 09-16-2013, 11:12 AM   #13
joshrosborne
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Checked gravity last night and it's down to 1.006. Still very mild. The base is solid, but not getting much from the Brett. Just tastes like a English strain of yeast at the moment. Will probably bottle this weekend.

Old 09-16-2013, 06:21 PM   #14
marvaden
Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 52

From what others have said about all-brett beers, a lot of the time you don't get that much of the typical brett character with them as the primary yeast. Instead, you get more of that yeast's more typical esters.

Did you get any pineapple or ripe overly fruit of any sort?