Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > Brett Dubbel With Figs

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2013, 10:19 PM   #1
brent77
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default Brett Dubbel With Figs

I brewed 10gal of a Dubbel with figs which I kegged 5 gal of, and want to get a bit of funk and oak into the other 5 gals.

I've never done a brett beer before, so I'm curious if I could get some thoughts on what might go well with that beer. From what I've read it sounds like a mix of Brett-L and Brett-B might be the best, lending an earthy cherry flavor over time?

Also, I should mention that we pitched a large amount of yeast from a tripel that was kegged on brew day, and it chugged through the dubbel all the way down to 1.003 so I was thinking I'd have to add some maltodextrin to the batch to feed the Brett.

Thoughts?

thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2013, 01:19 PM   #2
dcp27
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 118 Times on 114 Posts
Likes Given: 3

you can add maltodextrin if you want, but theres plenty of other food for the brett to eat as is. I think B & L would work great in this

Old 08-23-2013, 01:23 PM   #3
berebrando
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcp27
you can add maltodextrin if you want, but theres plenty of other food for the brett to eat as is. I think B & L would work great in this
I agree with dcp. Brett L and B would be a great addition. I have a Brett'd Dubbel in my pipeline, too!

I don't think you necessarily need to add maltodextrin - the Brettanomyces will process esters produced by your primary strain and hop compounds in addition to the remaining sugars. If it were me, I wouldn't add anything. Sounds like a cool beer.

Old 08-26-2013, 06:37 PM   #4
brent77
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 12