Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > 1st Sour Recipe Advice (1st post ever!)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2011, 10:49 PM   #1
skullwithwings
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default 1st Sour Recipe Advice (1st post ever!)

Hi All....

I'm new to brewing....6 batches under my belt, and I'm brand new to sour brewing and this board....

Here is a link to a recipe I am planning to do soon...in addition to the 3711 I will be pitching dregs from a jolly pumpkin "the firefly" and one bottle of orval.

http://hopville.com/recipe/887741/sa...-09-18-version

I have a few questions:

1. the malt bill...what do you think? the maltodextrin is for the bugs because the 3711 is such a beast i fear it will eat through everything else. i am concerned about having too high an abv though.
2. the plan now is to let it sit in primary for a month then transfer to secondary for a year plus..possibly with oak and almost definitely with fruit in the last couple months. will this significantly raise the abv again? and should i adjust the malt bill accordingly?
3. in an effort to stress the 3711 i will probably underpitch a bit (a 500-750 ml starter) and not aerate the wort...does this sound like a good idea? it's advice i got from someone on beeradvocate.
4. any other tips or stuff i should know? what do you think in general?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2011, 09:24 PM   #2
jvlpdillon
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Welcome.

Quote:
Originally Posted by skullwithwings View Post

I have a few questions:

1. the malt bill...what do you think? the maltodextrin is for the bugs because the 3711 is such a beast i fear it will eat through everything else. i am concerned about having too high an abv though.
Your gravity should be fine. it might be a bit high, but not excessive.

Quote: