1st Sour Attempt (1st Post Ever)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm really new to homebrewing (6 batches under my belt), and I'm brand new to sour brewing and this board.....in fact I'm so new that I don't really know what I'm doing post wise. i attempted to make this post last night, but i think i must have messed up because it is no where to be found.

Anyway, I have some questions that I hope you all can help me out with....The general plan with this beer is to let it sit in primary for a month or two before racking to secondary...perhaps on some oak and then on fruit for the last couple months....

Here is the recipe:

Malt & fermentables
% LB OZ Malt or Fermentable
55% 4 0 Briess Pilsen Light DME
21% 1 8 Malto-Dextrin info
14% 1 0 Briess Bavarian Wheat DME
5% 0 6 Belgian CaraVienne
5% 0 6 Belgian CaraMunich

hops
use time oz variety form aa
boil 60 mins 1.0 Saaz info pellet 3.9
Boil: 3.5 avg gallons for 60 minutes

Bitterness
10.8 IBU

yeast
Wyeast French Saison (3711)
I will also pitch dregs from one bottle of Orval and one bottle of Jolly Pumpkin 'the firefly'

O.G. 1.06
estimated final: 1.006
estimated abv: 7.2%

I have a few questions:
1. What do you think about the maltodextrin? i included it to feed the bugs because i fear that the 3711 will eat everything else. do you think this is too much maltodextrin, not enough, etc.?
2. what do you think about the malt bill in general? too much of anything? not enough?
3. what do you think about the abv? this is a question related to the malt bill...i'm concerned that the OG and the abv are too high.