*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > WLP655 - Belgian Sour Mix

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2008, 04:25 AM   #1
javedian
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default WLP655 - Belgian Sour Mix

Anybody ever use White Labs WLP655 Belgian Sour Mix? I just ordered a vial with the intent of making a Kriek and possibly a Flanders Red or Oud Brun. I have never done a sour before.
From White Labs site:
A unique blend perfect for Belgian style beers. Includes Brettanomyces, Saccharomyces, and the bacterial strains Lactobacillus and Pediococcus.

I have not found any useful info on the web yet. Any experience appreciated. I have a email off to White Labs, and will post any info I get back.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2008, 04:29 PM   #2
OskeeI
Recipes 

If you waited a couple of months you could have gotten the Wyeast Roeselare blend.

A lot of brewers are fermenting in the primary with a clean yeast like White Labs American Ale and pitching the sour blend in the secondary.

Good thread on the Roeselare blend, but most likly applicable to your WL Sour blend,

http://www.brewboard.com/index.php?showtopic=69895

Old 02-12-2008, 04:35 PM   #3
ScottD13
Recipes 

You'll have to add the sour mix after you ferment with yeast. I believe that the brett is actual yeast but the rest are just bugs. I would use the Roeselare blend but since you picked up the sour mix ferment first with a yeast that best suits you style - flanders red, brun or lambic, then pich the sour mix.

I've heard the Roeslare blend is about 50/50 Cal Ale Yeast/Sour Mix. So I'm sure you can fake it.

One thing to keep in mind the sooner you add the sour mix the more sour it will be....

Old 02-12-2008, 04:40 PM   #4
blacklab

Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottD13