Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Willamette based PA/IPA recipe advice

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2008, 01:47 AM   #1
greenbirds
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Willamette based PA/IPA recipe advice

I'm planning on brewing an extract-based pale ale/IPA (I feel like it might be a tweener) using Willamette finishing hops. My planned recipe is as follows:

5 gals:

7 lbs extra light DME
1 lb caramunich
1/2 lb carapils
1 oz. Bravo hops @ 13.6% AA - boil
1 oz. Willamette @ 4.4% - 20 minutes
1 oz. Willamette @ 4.4% - 5 minutes
1/2 oz. Willamette dry hop

How does this sound to you guys? I'd appreciate any feedback as I'm relatively new to formulating my own recipes. Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2008, 02:20 AM   #2
FatDuc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

In Beer Alchemy this comes in a little high on the IBU for an American IPA, at about 74, but if you're only doing a partial boil you'll likely not get full utilization of the hops. ABV comes in at ~5.8, but that's based on 75% attenuation, which could very well be higher than that. You might consider using regular light DME instead of extra light, because it looks like the color is supposed to be around 6 SRM, but again, using DME and putting it in early in the boil, you'll likely get a darker beer in the end anyways, so extra light should be fine too.

Doesn't look too bad to me.

Quote:
A child-like man is not a man whose development has been arrested; on the contrary, he is a man who has given himself a chance of continuing to develop long after most adults have muffled themselves in the cocoon of middle-aged habit and convention. Aldous Huxley
Fat Duc Brewing
Special Character cheatsheets