Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Vanilla Bean tincture

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2012, 04:19 PM   #1
Toasty27
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Vanilla Bean tincture

So i'm new here, but have been reading threads for awhile. I've only made 4 batches of beer so far, so i'm still a beginner. I am going to make a 5 gallon batch of smoked vanilla porter. I have been reading different threads on this forum about adding vanilla beans to beer. I've read you can split the bean in half and dump it into the primary fermentation, or split the bean in half, scrape out the insides, soak it in vodka and put it into the secondary fermentation...I think i'd rather go with the tincture method, unless somebody thinks different...
My questions are, Does it matter what type of vodka is used?
How much vodka do i soak the beans in? And how long?
Do i add it to the primary or secondary? (i came across a thread where you guys were debating whether secondary fermentations are even necessary). Any help is appreciated!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 04:31 PM   #2
Golddiggie
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 477 Times on 420 Posts
Likes Given: 266

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasty27 View Post
So i'm new here, but have been reading threads for awhile. I've only made 4 batches of beer so far, so i'm still a beginner. I am going to make a 5 gallon batch of smoked vanilla porter. I have been reading different threads on this forum about adding vanilla beans to beer. I've read you can split the bean in half and dump it into the primary fermentation, or split the bean in half, scrape out the insides, soak it in vodka and put it into the secondary fermentation...I think i'd rather go with the tincture method, unless somebody thinks different...
My questions are, Does it matter what type of vodka is used?