The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > trub from kolsch yeast

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2006, 04:40 AM   #1
drengel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default trub from kolsch yeast

i transferred my kolsch on monday. the trub was the wierdest i've ever seen. it was gray, and was like little balls instead of the thick, uniform trub i usually get. the kolsch also tastes funky. its almost like its too bitter or something, although i don't know how thats possible, and i didn't write down and can't remember the exact taste of it, just wierd. i'm wondering if the wierd trub-funky taste are correlated...any opinions, prior experience, its my first time using kolsch yeast.

also, the only things i did different than usual was do a late add on dme to keep the color in line with the style, and leave it in the primary longer than usual, about a week and a half. it fermented at 66 degrees, and is pretty much fully attenuated at 1.012. don't have my notebook on hand, but it was designed as a quick and dirty after-work brew and is just 5 pounds of extra light dme, and some hallertau for bittering and tettnangs for flavor, something along the lines of 20-25 IBUs, can't remember. i threw it in the fridge right away, so its cold conditioning for a month or until it tastes better, which ever comes first.

drinking: mocha java porter, belgian pumpkin ale, Gary's oatmeal stout clone, AHS nut brown, catamount porter clone, double nut brown, rye pale ale, my oatmeal stout

conditioning: nut brown

next: saison, wit, american wheat, hefe, kolsch, blonde

gone: too damn many

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-01-2006, 12:06 PM   #2
jeffg

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts