Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Tropical Fruit Beer Recipe Idea

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2012, 01:22 AM   #1
ehage4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Tropical Fruit Beer Recipe Idea

I had this idea for a tropical fruit beer. I'm still pretty new to brewing, so any suggestions or tips would be great.

For the tropical flavor I want to use mango, pineapple, and orange. I made this recipe by based on other fruit beer recipes on the forum and combining things I thought looked good.

Recipe Type: Extract
Yeast: Belgian Wit Ale (White Labs #WLP400)
Batch Size (Gallons): 5
Original Gravity: 1.052
Final Gravity: 1.012
IBU: 34.0
Boiling Time (Minutes): 60
Color: 9.1
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 7 days at 70 F
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 7 days at 70 F

7 lbs Wheat Liquid Extract [82.4%]
1 lb Caramel 20L Malt [11.8%]
0.5 lb Carapils [5.9%]

0.75 oz Galena [12.50%] (25.2 IBUs) 60 min
0.75 oz Citra [12.00%] (8.8 IBUs) 10 min

Fruits
-20 oz fresh mango
-20 oz canned pineapple
-3 oz orange zest

The fruits/juices will go in the secondary. Any thoughts/criticisms? Thanks in advance!

Last edited by ehage4; 06-08-2012 at 01:56 PM. Reason: updated recipe

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2012, 02:25 AM   #2
Lazersgopewpew
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I've personally never used pineapple in a beer, but I've had a pineapple beer before, Maui Brewing Companys Mana Wheat.
To be honest, the pineapple flavor comes off really strong so I'd say be careful.

Also, Citra hops have a tropical nature to them so you might want to consider those.
If you want to get a good idea of what Citra hops can taste/smell like I would recommend the Citra version of Hermitage Brewing Companys Single Hop Series IPAs.