Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Troeg's Mad Elf

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2013, 06:53 PM   #11
oelfool
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

seckett, I just pitted and froze the fruit overnight. I forgot to mention that I've never tried the original brew, but it sounds tasty!

Skål!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2013, 01:16 PM   #12
seckert
Recipes 

Liked 33 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by oelfool View Post
seckett, I just pitted and froze the fruit overnight. I forgot to mention that I've never tried the original brew, but it sounds tasty!
thanks for the info. might be a dumb question but how did you know it was sanitary? i have never used fruit in a beer before except for fruit extract so i dont count that. how do you ensure you arent putting in some nasties that are on fruit into the beer?
the original is pretty damn good, but super expensive!

Old 10-09-2013, 01:58 PM   #13
oelfool
Recipes 

Usually when I make my raspberry ale, I thaw the frozen berries and then heat to just below boing for a few minutes with a little water if necessary. But, for this batch I was in a rush and used the excuse that it had enough alcohol that it would be fine. I've never seen anything definitive that you should boil the fruit, pasturize the fruit or just chuck it in. Might not be a bad idea to heat the cherries up and pasturize them. This is an expensive brew and long wait to risk it. Heating may also add more pectin and create haze, but that's not something I worry about too much yet. Looking forward to trying this one again next year with just cherries and the Westmalle yeast. Thanks WissaBrewGuy for the link.

Skål!

Old 10-09-2013, 04:35 PM   #14
WissaBrewGuy
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3