Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Simcoe, Amarillo & Cascade combination?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2013, 07:07 PM   #1
Jayhem
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 257 Times on 208 Posts
Likes Given: 1163

Default Simcoe, Amarillo & Cascade combination?

So I'm planning to brew an IPA soon using equal parts Simcoe, Amarillo and Cascade in the late boil, hop whirlpool and dry hop.

How do these 3 hops do together? I'm looking for a tropical/citrus aroma, flavor.

Which of these hops has the strongest flavor? is equal parts of each going to work well? This is my first time using Simcoe or Amarillo, they are expensive and hard to find so I don't want to waste them! I also have a couple ounces of Citra left I could use as well but would that be overkill?

Next up: American Pale Ale
Primary 1&2: American Brown Ale
Primary 3&4: Hopped up Belgian Tripel
Bottle Conditioning/drinking: Summer Kolsch, White Zombie (Amarillo IPA), English Pale Ale (ESB)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2013, 07:12 PM   #2
EyePeeA
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Yes, they pair well together.

For more fruity & tropical, use Simcoe & Amarillo in higher late boil and dryhop proportions. Simcoe will also add pineyness. For more citrusy, use more Cascade. Citra would add to the tropical notes.

Old 03-20-2013, 09:01 PM   #3
mewithstewpid
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 201 Times on 130 Posts
Likes Given: 161

those three dont work together at all. I would never use them together late in the boil, it's a recipe for disaster.

mail them to me to dispose of properly.

Old 03-20-2013, 09:03 PM   #4
mewithstewpid
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 201 Times on 130 Posts
Likes Given: 161