Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Saison Dupont clone

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2008, 08:18 PM   #1
rockout
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Saison Dupont clone

Hi everyone -

Last Xmas I got a book called Clone Brews and have finally gotten around to attempting one of the recipes. Bought the ingredients for the Saison Dupont recipe yesterday and will be brewing this coming week. It's my first attempt at any clone as well as my first Belgian or wheat variant.

I'm just wondering if anyone has any experience with this recipe or similar recipes and can give me any tips, stuff I should pay careful attention to, basically anything that's not in the instructions. I've been brewing for 1.5 years and have gotten pretty decent for a beginner extract brewer.

Here's the ingredients if anyone is wondering:

1/2 lb German Vienna malt
5.75 lb M&F extra-light DME
1 lb M&F wheat DME
1 lb Belgian clear candy sugar
1.4 oz Stryrian Goldings @5% AA (7 HBU) bittering hops
3/4 oz East Kent Goldings flavor hops
1/2 oz Curacao bitter orange peel
1 tsp Irish moss

Wyeast 1214 Belgian abby ale

1 1/4 cup M&F extra-light DME for secondary.

I'm also wondering about this DME for secondary - I've never seen this before in any recipe I've used. Anyone care to shed some light on that?

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2008, 08:21 PM   #2
Soulive

Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

I have that book too and I recommend not following it too literally. Are you sure the DME is for secondary and not for carbonating? Brewing Saisons with all extract can be tricky. The style depends high attenuation and its hard to dry out when using extract...

===================
Green Lane Brewing
===================

Primary = Evan!'s Special Bitter
On Deck = EdWort's Porter / American Amber

EdWort's Haus Pale Ale Count

Old 06-14-2008, 08:24 PM   #3
rockout
Recipes