Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Recipe reviews?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2007, 09:36 PM   #1
FlyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
FlyGuy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,618
Liked 136 Times on 42 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Recipe reviews?

Has anyone been to those cooking recipe sites (like epicurious.com or allrecipes.com) where people post all sorts of cooking recipes? What is great about these sites is that other people try these recipes, and then they come back and rate them. You can even search for 'top rated' recipes, and I have found some really good ones like this (you can also eliminate the awful ones).

I think this would be a great idea for homebrew recipes. There are all sorts of recipes on this (and other) sites, but it would be nice to know what is 'tried and true'.

Has anyone found a homebrew recipe site that is based on user ratings/reviews?

__________________
FlyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2007, 02:39 AM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 87 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyGuy
Has anyone found a homebrew recipe site that is based on user ratings/reviews?
I've never seen one.

Perhaps because homebrewers like to experiment and try their own recipes more than try to copy someone else's recipe? (This actually a good topic for a poll.... coming up!)

I just think the amount of user feedback would be very small. But... it doesn't mean we can't try to create something right here on our own site.

We could use threads to post a recipe, and be very diligent about keeping responses in that thread limited to review comments from people who had either brewed it themselves, or had participated in a beer swap to get some of that particular beer (from the original poster, or from someone else who brewed it).

If we use the thread rating system (the '5 stars') to indicate our overall opinion of the beer, we could use have a way to find a recipe that had gotten positive feedback.

Then again, how much feedback would we actually get? (here comes that poll).

-walker
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2007, 02:43 AM   #3
the_bird
10th-Level Beer Nerd
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
the_bird's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Adams, MA
Posts: 20,587
Liked 386 Times on 319 Posts
Likes Given: 105

Default

Well, I'm running a beer swap in the next couple weeks (details in the "member announcement" section). I'm asking people to post thier recipes, and there ought to be three detailed reviews of each brew.

__________________
Come join Yankee Ingenuity!

"I'm kind of toasted. But I looked at my watch and it's only 6:30 so I can't stop drinking yet." - Yooper's Bob
"Brown eye finally recovered after the abuse it endured in Ptown last weekend, but it took almost a full week." - Paulie
"no, he just doesn't speak 'stupid'. i, however, am fluent...." - motobrewer
"... I'll go both ways." - Melana

That'll do, Pigley. That'll do.
the_bird is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reviews TxBrew HomeBrewTalk Announcements & Feedback 2 05-15-2009 02:44 AM
Bank Reviews Please! TwoHeadsBrewing General Chit Chat 22 05-05-2009 10:02 PM
Commercial Reviews TxBrew HomeBrewTalk Announcements & Feedback 28 11-25-2008 08:33 PM
V-Vessel reviews stunsm Equipment/Sanitation 1 07-17-2008 08:24 PM
Better Bottle reviews? BrewStef Equipment/Sanitation 2 03-27-2006 10:15 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS